Monday, January 28, 2013

Review: The Iron Legends by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Legends by Julie Kagawa
Paperback, 304 pages
Published August 28th 2012 by Harlequin Teen
Source: Own
Buy the Book: Amazon : B&N : Goodreads
From Goodreads:
Enter the world of the internationally bestselling Iron Fey series. Dangerous faeries. Heartbreaking romance. Thrilling action and limitless adventure. The world of the fey has never been so powerful. This collection includes three novellas set in the world of the Iron Fey plus the Guide to the Iron Fey with exclusive information about Julie Kagawa's unforgettable world of Faery.

Winter's Passage

Never make a promise to a faery. They always come to collect. Now Meghan Chase must fulfill her promise to Prince Ash of the Winter Court and embark upon a dangerous journey into the heart of enemy territory—while being pursued by a relentless new foe and guarding her own foolish heart.

Summer's Crossing

What can turn enemies into reluctant allies? A call from the Exile Queen, Leanansidhe, ties legendary prankster Puck to his archenemy, Prince Ash, on a journey that may end in betrayal and will set them both on an irreversible path.

Iron's Prophecy

Before she ever knew what she might become, Iron Queen Meghan Chase was warned by the oracle that her firstborn child would bring nothing but grief. And even as Meghan and Ash celebrate their long-awaited union, the prophecy stirs.…

Three Iron Fey novellas for the first time in print!
Oh, how do I love this series! The book includes two previously released, free novellas from Kagawa that connected Meghan's series and also the new novella that connects Meghan's to Ethan's new series, The Lost Prince: The Call of the Forgotten. As a true Iron Fey fan, I just had to have them all in print and settled on the bookshelf with its family. Not to mention that Iron's Prophecy is another continuation on Meghan and Ash's story. I'll read anything with Ash in it and it is no secret that this novella is where the couple learns to live life as a true couple and, um, expand upon things. I love "connecting" books like this that allow me to see how the characters grow even further and how their story affected their lives. It's been such a long time since I have read Winter's Passage and Summer's Crossing that I will not review them here. Winter's Passage is Ash's novella story that connects the first two books and Summer's Crossing is Puck's Story that connects the third and fourth books. My pick is Ash's story, but Puck's is hilarious due to his POV and sense of humor. I'll let you decide between the two, just be sure to read them! :)

As previously mentioned, Iron's Prophecy connects The Iron King series to the Call of the Forgotten series, falling in right after The Iron Knight. Here we learn of what life is like post "Ash's Crusade"/marriage to Meghan and find out about a new web that is weaving in the Iron Fey world. The synopsis basically gives away all of it to be honest. However, what you don't see is the maturity and regal persona that Meghan excretes as an experienced Iron Queen. In response to this new level of enlightenment, you also receive a deep relationship between Ash and Meghan as they solidify their life and family together. It truly is a great way to leave their story behind and allows readers to make the transition to Meghan's child and brother Ethan's story...with Puck tucked in for the ride!

The book also includes a Guide to the Iron Fey. I thought it was an awesome addition and would actually highly recommend this concept to other authors. It can help understand the story better and in this case provide some hilarious aspects of the world that you may have not realized otherwise.


Post a Comment